Carsick

Photo by Piotr Kurczynski on Pexels.com

The “truck speed” sign glares 

yellow through the rain

as I trace the droplet paths

with my foggy eyes

half-closed in sleep 

yet open in misery,

the air blowing cold on my face

as my stomach tries to settle.

We turn the sharp curve 

barreling down towards the valley

stuffed with trees 

standing tall like socks

shoved into my drawer 

and I press my warm head

close against the glass,

longing for a taste of the rain.

Cook’s Forest doesn’t sound pretty,

at least to my small mind,

even as it tries to focus

on my tumultuous stomach

rolling like the hills and curves 

that brought the feeling about,

but we pass the cabins,

that I can’t help notice are beautiful.

I’ve determined in my heart

one day, I’d come back here to live 

and ride my horse 

that isn’t mine yet

to work or the general store we always pass

with its gaudy wooden cowboy

raising his hat and smiling

in a way that isn’t inviting at all.

We pass through here too often,

and the scenery rarely changes

or does so in a way that almost

makes you believe in evolutionary thought

as the moss creeps with hands

joined with the ivy

up the sides of buildings

and the edges of canoes.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started